homeowner

Today we bought a house.  Truly, today I signed for the house.  With P out of the country for a few more months, I was the one who did all of the signing, which also included signing for him.  This meant I signed “P Middle Name Last Name, by Rachel Last Name Last Name, attorney-in-fact” on half of a tree’s worth of documents in addition to my own name.  Honestly the signing was not as overwhelming as others had made it out to be.  But still, yes, it was quite a moment, and a heck of a lot of paper.

Welcome to our living room!!!! I can’t wait to get our furniture into this place!

539947_7_1

On Monday I got to go over to the house to do a final walk through and make sure that all was fine and well with the place.  It was a super rainy day here in Seattle, and after turning on the fire and wandering through the house to make sure that everything was fine, I just wanted to stay.  I wanted to park myself next to the fireplace and not leave my new home.  (And no, I am not in love with the orange, but it is fine for now.)

Oh kitchen! It has been so long since I last cooked a meal! I am looking forward to spending some quality time with you after I unpack.

 

 

 

539947_10_0

We even have a nice little yard.  It is perfect – not too big as to require too much maintenance and not too small as to be annoying. There is enough room for P to BBQ and for my mom’s dogs to romp when they come to visit.

539947_2_0

While I signed for the house today, today is not our closing day.  We close and I take possession of it on Friday.  I can’t believe that we have a home once again.

About OneGoneTwo

bioethicist, cultural studies, literature, and visual cultural scholar, writer, and lover of design
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to homeowner

  1. Christine says:

    Hooray! Fantastic news.

  2. OneGoneTwo says:

    Thank you! We are super excited. And it will be lovely to have you over once we are all settled in the new place.

  3. Aunt Henri says:

    Congratulations sweetheart. I continue to be proud of you and I am thankful to have you in our family.

  4. OneGoneTwo says:

    Your nephew is amazing! He is my rock. Even from half-a-world away he was an amazing partner and support in house shopping. Hopefully you and your family will visit us in Seattle at some point.

Leave a Reply

