seasons in a seemingly seasonless place

Yesterday I had to deliver some devastating news to my husband: Thai mango season has ended.  Partner loves mangoes with a passion that rivals my own passion for the fruit.  I am pretty sure, deep down inside, one of the reasons he originally decided to seriously look into the job in Singapore was because it would put us closer to the source of amazing mangoes.

After scoring what were probably some of our best mangoes so far last Friday at the Fair Price Market in the basement of the building below our apartment, we must now wait until April 2013 to get our fill of the Thai Rainbow Mangoes and Thai Honey Mangoes.  I wish I had known that we were at the tail-end of the Thai mango season, for I would have purchased all of the remaining mangoes downstairs.  I only learned about the limited season today when I went and asked the produce manager at Fair Price about the mangoes and when they might be receiving more.  We are living in a tropical climate where it rarely dips below a heat index of 90!!!  What do you mean there is a mango season?!!?!?  There are no season here!!!

I am being very specific about the type of mango here because we have tried lots of others.  At present we do have some Malaysian Chukanlam Mangoes in the fridge.  These are new to us, so I shall report back.  But a few weeks ago when we went adventuring in Little India we picked up some Indian Mangoes – I believe they were of the Baneshan variety.  I will henceforth refer to these mangoes as soapy mangoes, because that is just how they tasted.  Truly, it was like biting into a really juicy bar of Ivory soap.  Ick.

I love fruit.  While I am certainly not about to run off and become a fruitarian, I can understand the appeal of that dietary choice.  And frankly, if one were to decide to become a fruitarian this would not be a bad part of the world to indulge in that lifestyle.  Mango season may have come and gone with me being none-the-wiser, but in its wake we have just started venturing into other new-to-us fruits.  Perhaps we are in their season now.

This is a Thai Guava.  Much of our produce if purchased in a supermarket comes to us overly packaged, so I wanted to show you how we first encountered these fruits.

I should have put something in the shot to give you a sense of scale, but these guavas are bigger than a softball.  Our first sampling of them was not great – we had picked up some small ones and they were a bit tough and bitter.  These larger ones have been great.

Wash the outside of the guava really well, cut it up so as to remove the stem at the top and its fuzzy bottom (not pictured), and if you like, cut it again so that it is in manageable pieces.  You eat the whole thing – skin and all.  Guavas are more vitamin C rich than oranges!

While out earlier today I encountered pink guavas from Indonesia.  I don’t think that they taste much different from what are often referred to as Apple Guavas or the more conventional kind pictured above.  Still, they are lovely and yummy.

Back in January, when we were traveling in Thailand and Cambodia, I  really enjoyed our morning glass of fresh passion fruit juice – that is, when I was not violently ill.  Oh Cambodia, how I do not miss cholera!!!  Until recently, however, I had never actually encountered a passion fruit.  This week we managed to find two kinds.

On the left is the  Passion Fruit and the Golden Passion Fruit is on the right.  Of these fruits you eat the seeds and the membranes holding them in.  Avoid the white pith to which the membranes attach.

I could not help but take some fun shots of these.  They are delightful and tasty.

I guess I am going to have to do a bit more research about growing seasons here.  For me, I am used to growing seasons be demarcated by changes in actual seasons, so this may take some getting used to.

About OneGoneTwo

bioethicist, cultural studies, literature, and visual cultural scholar, writer, and lover of design
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

